All Motions Denied But One/The Death Penalty Is For The Jury To Decide

Judge Strickland has ruled that it will be left for a jury to decide on the death penalty.  Of course he also ruled that he would not stop the video tapping of the visits with her attorneys or any visitors. Of course the video with the attorneys does not have any audio and to my knowledge, we’ve never seen any of those anyway. He also denied the motion to destroy the video tapes, but one thing he did stipulate was that he had seen at least one video that could violate Casey’s right to a fair trial, therefore he would view the videos before they are released publicly as he would not have her rights violated. He ruled against the double jeopardy motion in which the defense wanted many of the charges dropped against Casey in the check fraud case. He did approve a motion for protective order for Joe Jordan, but that motion was submitted by the prosecution.

For whatever reason, Dominic Casey’s deposition with the State that was supposed to take place on Wednesday afternoon, was cancelled. No further information was given. You can read more about all of this here:

http://www.wftv.com/news/22005565/detail.html

Now, in my opinion I really didn’t expect any of those motions to fly. I did see that Joe Jordan’s interview was going to be sealed as per the discussion at the hearing last Friday. I really like what Judge Strickland said on Friday to the defense about these motions:

“Aren’t you asking me to reinvent the wheel?” Judge Strickland questioned.

To me that is what many of these motions were asking, for special rights for Casey and that is why I didn’t think it would fly. I thought he would deny them. I totally understand why he did. No one has violated Casey’s rights and they aren’t going to. Her defense has done a good enough job of that on their own. I’ve said it before and I will say it again, the defense team is the party responsible for trying this case in the court of public opinion. Period. As for Dominic Casey, that to me is interesting. I’m not sure why that happened and because there is no further information about it, I have no idea of a rescheduled date. That was not mentioned.

All in all I think Justice For Caylee is moving right along. I’m sure Casey’s Christmas will not be merry and bright.

This entry was posted in Crime and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

61 Responses to All Motions Denied But One/The Death Penalty Is For The Jury To Decide

  1. mikka says:

    niecey, i am so glad for caylee,justice is coming to her!!!

  2. niecey456 says:

    Hey Mikka! I am too! 😉

  3. TAS says:

    Hi Neicey and Mikka, hope everything is well, I guess Casey will NOT have her Christmas wish lol… Caylee will finally get justice…. hugz…

  4. niecey456 says:

    Hey TAS! All is well here. How about in your neck of the woods?
    I agree, Casey will face what she’s done. Justice is coming.

    HUGS!

  5. BEES KNEES says:

    Hi Niecey! Hi mikka! I’ve been crazy-busy running around doing the Christmas thing for the past week. Still have lots left to do and my little granddaughters are coming for two nights this weekend instead of one. I love Christmas through a little child’s eyes. Niecey, will you be able to be with your little grandson at Christmas? Everything is magic at that age.

    Anyway it doesn’t sound like I’ve missed much. I’m happy with Strickland’s decisions. Would love to see Kathi B., mic in hand, trotting after Baez today with some good questions. Maybe we will.

    Boy, that Dominic Casey is a hard one to pin down. Have all of his reasons for not talking been legal? And the other thing is, even if it is legal, who really believes he’s going to tell the truth anyway? I know I don’t have much faith in him. Could it be that the State really doesn’t need his testimony? That seems unlikely.

  6. mikka says:

    tas how are you???

    cma will order a xanax for lunch today! 😆

  7. BEES KNEES says:

    Hi Niecey! My username from an Orlando Blog is showing up in my last message. I think that’s why I’m in moderation. If you can change it back to Bees Knees, or even just leave it as it is I’ve got my WP username showing now from now on. Thx!

  8. BEES KNEES says:

    mikka! ha ha ha hahaha . . . poor George.

  9. Diana says:

    Doesn’t she think “the gig is up yet”? How can she continue acting innocent?
    I think this ruling will be the end of George and Cindy and the media interviews. They have to know that there is compelling evidence against Casey at this point.

  10. BEES KNEES says:

    I’m so nosy!!! I’m just wondering if Strickland doesn’t release some of the videos that would be damaging to Casey’s case do you think they will be released once the trial is over?

    And also, if Strickland sees that the videos show the clown and the killer inappropriately touching each other will he be put into the position of reporting it again to the powers that be?

    Did you know that so far there have been seven separate complaints made about their inappropriate touching. Seven.

  11. niecey456 says:

    Hey Bees! I fixed your comment. 🙂
    I’m sure you are so excited having the grandbabies. Yes, I will have my little guy around for Christmas. He will be at my house on Christmas eve and a few days prior and then on Christmas morning I’m going to his house to deliver a big present. :mrgreen: I’m excited.
    No you haven’t missed much. I think they will nail him down in due time. I think he’s more or less been told he has to. I think it will be rescheduled. JMO.

    She probably did Mikka! Thanks! Going to watch.

  12. TAS says:

    Neicey, Everything is great, almost finished Christmas shopping…

    Mikka I’m great how are you doing? lol Mikka, Casey will need need a hand full of xanax for lunch…..lol

  13. niecey456 says:

    LOL! Mikka! I think that says a lot! 😉

    Fixed it Bees.

    Hey Diana! Apparently not, but I guess she’s wearing those rose colored glasses when she looks in the mirror. She got so upset on Friday, because Ashton had her figured out and she had to listen to it, along with everyone else.
    I can only hope you are right and they will quit it.

    Bees, I think that they could even be used at trial. JMO. I just think he’s been holding that one back as it’s damning. I think he’s trying not to try this in the court of public opinion.
    As far as the touchy clown, I had not realized it was 7, but I’m not surprised. I don’t know, as far as I heard he was hugging her. I have no idea if that will go anywhere.

  14. niecey456 says:

    I’m so glad TAS! I’m about finished with mine too.

  15. Rebecca says:

    Casey does not deserve a good Christmas. Caylee can not have one, thanks to her mother.
    I’m glad the death penalty wasn’t dropped.
    Caylee didn’t get a choice, why should Casey?
    I really feel that Caylee will get the justice that she deserves in 2010. I can not wait for the trial. Actually for both trials. Woo Hoo!!

  16. niecey456 says:

    Hey Rebecca! I agree on all counts.

  17. Hi Niecey! This is great news! Now if we could just get a date for the murder trial, I would be so happy!
    Justice for Caylee!

  18. niecey456 says:

    Hey Humble! It is! I’m hoping they go with that June 2010 date the defense proposed way back. I hope they don’t set it back anymore.
    Justice For Caylee! 😉

  19. motherclucker says:

    Hey Everybody! Woo hoooo! The Lyon better get to doing some damage control now, and retracting that statement about “death penalty jurors being conviction prone” killers! LOL! Good luck, Bozo and Lyon! You now have to convince a jury, that you have already insulted, to not give your client the death penalty. LOL! This is too rich! I love it!

  20. niecey456 says:

    Hey MC! I would say you are correct! LOL! 😆
    I thought Bozo was the master of opening mouth and inserting foot, but it seems that the Lyon has caught up to him! 😆 I think they might need to do an I’m Sorry seminar.

  21. midget48 says:

    i am sooooooooooo happy today!!! justice for Precious Caylee!!! way to go judge S!

  22. niecey456 says:

    Hey Midget! I am too! I think the Judge was very fair and Just.
    Justice For Caylee!

  23. September says:

    Hi everyone! It’s started to snow here in Virginia, a great start to Christmas week.

    I’d like to ask what you all think happened on the tape(where Casey is watching the news reports of Caylee being found) that made the judge seal it. He obviously feels that it would ,if seen now, adversely affect Casey’s ability to get a fair trial. I can only think it must have audio and she made a very damaging statement. Just video showing her reaction could be explained away….its got to be they have audio.

    What do you guys think is on that video?

  24. Cali Patti says:

    Mikka, thanks for the video connection, love Jimmy Buffet.
    I agree with you all about how good it is for Casey.
    Nicey, you run a nice site with intelligent contributors/friends.

  25. niecey456 says:

    Hey September! Well, I guess you will have a white Christmas. 🙂
    From what I’ve read there was no audio to that tape. That was a security tape, so it would be like when she meets with her attorney. No audio. The following is a description of what it must show:

  26. niecey456 says:

    Hey Cali Patti! Thank you very much for that. 🙂

  27. Sanny says:

    Is everybody happy? OHH yes…..however the Canthony’s must be poppin the zanax several at a time by now.
    What a Friday this has been for Sweet Caylee!!

    Justice is coming Caylee…..I promise you, it’s coming.

  28. niecey456 says:

    Hey Sanny! Yep! I’d say so.
    This has been an awesome week for Justice For Caylee. I’m very pleased.

  29. September says:

    Nicey, you are so gracious to even the most challenged of your friends/posters. Thank you for the link I do remember that interview. If you did not know the evidence in this case and only had this tape it sounds like a mother coping with the reality that her baby is dead. The football talk was off the charts but otherwise I don’t understand why the judge thought it was so prejudicial.

    Anyway thank you for the link, your great.

  30. niecey456 says:

    You are welcome! I think what makes it so disturbing and maybe even damning is that she showed no reaction to previous false alarms and even laughed and mocked, saying things like: “They haven’t even found her clothes yet”. She appeared to not be fazed by any of them, until this one and then she had the come aparts. I think that is the catch. She more or less knew this time was no false alarm, as she knew what she did.

    Thank You! I really enjoy your visits! You ask some of the most intelligent questions.

  31. Anne says:

    George and Cindy Antony’s Body Language on the Today Show Indicates They Are Feigning Denial and Know Daughter Casey is Guilty

    Dr. Lillian Glass Body Language Expert Dec. 17, 2009

    CINDY AND GEORGE MUST CLAIM SOME RESPONSIBILITY FOR ALLOWING CASEY’S BAD BEHAVIOR IN THE PAST

    I have always found Cindy Anthony’s yelling, belligerence, anger, rudeness, obnoxious and inappropriate gum chewing, manipulation, and hostility extremely offensive. While my dear friend Nancy Grace, who’s show on which I regularly appear on Headline News cuts Cindy a lot of slack just because she is a parent and is defending her daughter, I refuse to do so.

    Full article:
    http://www.drlillianglass.com/blog/

  32. September says:

    Have a great eveining, Nicey.

  33. mikka says:

    cali patti,your welcome!love the singer too! 🙂

  34. Molly says:

    happy dance! This is one more step toward justice for that sweet little angel.
    I think the media should contact G&C for a comment about the rulings. I doubt they have much to say now, they only want media attention when they’re in control of it.

    September – That snow is supposed to make its way here to CT by tomorrow afternoon! 1 to 2 feet! agh!!! Got all my supplies, I’ll be holed up here baking for a couple days. Enjoy

  35. niecey456 says:

    You have a great evening too September!

    Hey Molly! Yes this is one more step toward Justice. I think they also want the media attention when they are trying to counteract something, and try and gain public sympathy. “Damage Control”. I do agree they like the control.

  36. mikka says:

    The defamation trial has been set for June, WKMG’s Mike DeForest reported. Zenaida Gonzalez is suing Anthony for defamation for linking her to the disappearance of Caylee Anthony. Casey Anthony is charged with first-degree murder in the death of her daughter, Caylee.

    About the defamation suit, DeForest said, “If the two sides cannot reach a financial settlement by the end of May, a jury will hear this case in early June.”

    see ya all tomorrow friends! 😉

  37. mikka says:

    from wesh!
    WESH 2’s Bob Kealing found another case in which Judge Stan Strickland was faced with the same life or death decision.

    That case could shed some light on which way he’ll go if Casey Anthony is convicted.

    In 2004, a twice convicted felon, J.J. Curtis Jacobs, stood in front of Strickland guilty of the rape and murder of a mother of three, Lalitah “Kay” Naraine.

    Her boss said nothing but death would do.

    Because of mitigating factors, including the “staggering” abuse Jacobs suffered as a child, Strickland opted against death.

  38. mikka says:

    its an older video,when you hears this,cma is guilty as charged!

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uoSp8duoPNQ&feature=related

  39. niecey456 says:

    Thanks Mikka! What a wealth of information! Thank you so much for sharing. I remember TL wanting to use the mental health approach and Baez wouldn’t have it. I think it will come back to bite Casey. It will also bite Baez. Justice is coming, she’s not walking.

  40. niecey456 says:

    Hey Anne! Welcome!!!
    Thanks for sharing! I found that quite interesting. In fact I added her blog to my blogroll.
    Sorry you were in moderation so long.

  41. mikka says:

    it will be a busy 2010!

    the two sides cannot reach a financial settlement soon, a trial date has been set for June 7.

  42. niecey456 says:

    Good Morning Mikka! Thanks for sharing. It will be a busy year! Well hopefully a year that will bring Justice For Caylee!

  43. mikka says:

    niecey,your welcome!!! 😉

  44. mikka says:

    video about the civil trial

    http://www.clickorlando.com/video/22010022/index.html
    Hey Mikka! Thanks!!!

  45. GM Niecey! I am curious as to where Casey will get settlement money! She uses all her snack fund! Maybe all the money the d-team makes off of Caylee and Casey will start going to ZFG! That would be nice! lol
    Hey Humble! That would be interesting to see how they got the settlement and it would be nice if it did come from all the blood money.

  46. arttart says:

    Humbleopinion, BLINK awhile back did a story on what it would mean in the Civil Case. Richard Hornsby will probably do one also, I hope so.

    BOZO sold, we heard around $250,000.00 worth of videos & pictures months ago of Caylee. The thing is, BOZO represented KC selling the photos, the money went to her DEFENSE Fund. BOZO doesn’t/didn’t own any of those photos. Sadly, KC can make money until conviction, which, imo, won’t be soon enough.

    I heard RUMORS they were going to try to GET money from the Anthony Home Owners Insurance. CRAZY? I thought so but J Morgan is a pretty smart guy, suing insurance companies is what he does. After all, the Anthony’s not only supported Caylee, they were KC’s financial support also, all she could steal & she did live in their home. J Morgan has CA admitting in the deposition that EVEN after CA knew the ZG he represents WAS NOT the ZG KC was talking about, CA didn’t correct it on a National Media Interview.

    Wonder how the ANT’s will ACT in the CIVIL CASE Trial?
    Hey Art Tart! Excellent points!!! I think you are right on on this one.

  47. mikka says:

    here what a viewer saw in australia!

    http://www.clickorlando.com/video/22015158/index.html
    Very interesting……………. Thanks Mikka!

  48. mikka says:

    cma was named the #1 most notorious female killer of ALL TIME on an E! special that ran last night! She even beat out Susan Smith who killed two babies! cindy must be so proud of your” mother of the year” Casey!
    I’m not surprised. She definitely has the most extreme traits of a sociopath.

  49. Ideas says:

    C & G will have no new reaction to these motions. They are caged into their previous statements and will maintain those until sentencing. They have always considered LE biased, despite the excellent work and mounting evidence. Today, they probably feel that the whole court system is biased, and the defense and Conway probably feed them those lines also. They know to be on Casey’s side is to play Dumb and Dumber.
    Hey Ideas! Well said! I do agree. 😉

  50. Jill from Western Australia says:

    Hiya Bees 😆

    I do hope that your Dr. gives you the best Chrissy news today.

    Thinking of you

    Hugs ♥♥♥

  51. ostella says:

    Me too Bees!! 🙂

  52. ostella says:

    Casey’s Letter to Santa

    Dear Santa,

    I want some cool $hit to make up for being stuck in here. You have no idea how bad this place sucks, and its everyone else’s fault I’m here. So here’s what I want, in order of how bad I want it:

    A leopard print Snuggie (its f*ing cold in here) and matching slippers

    A new Starbucks franchise inside the OCSO County Jail, and a coffee drink named in my honor.

    A disco ball for my ceiling.

    A surround sound entertainment center in my cell.

    Assorted fitness DVDs: Yoga Booty Ballet, Flirty Girl Fitness, and Camera Ready Core

    An Epilady Leg Shaver

    A gross order of strawberry flavored SlimFast

    Regular conjugal visits from the Miami Dolphins

    MacGyver’s “Guide to Making Sex Toys”

    A personal stylist for all court appearances, and limitless credit at Forever 21.

    Miley Cyrus’s latest CD
    (Autographed)

    A yearlong subscription to US Weekly and OK Magazine, to be hand delivered by an A-List celebrity each month.

    Voodoo dolls in the shape of my parents

    A lifesize framed poster of me dancing in the Hot Body Contest, for above my cot

    A lot of people say I haven’t been good this year, but they’re just jealous, so don’t bother listening to them, and send me all this $hit pronto. And don’t piss me off, or I’ll frame you for this crime next.

    Casey

    P.S. Gimme.

  53. BEES KNEES says:

    Thank you Jill and Ostella. You are sweet. It turns out I’m still not going to know anything until the 7th!!!

    Ostella! That’s TOO FUNNY! A year long subscription to US Weekly! Ha ha ha . . .

  54. Jill from Western Australia says:

    Hey Bees…lets work on the principle that if there was anything wrong they would have notified you by now…no news is good news. Just enjoy your Chrissy…all will be well 😆

    Hey Ostella…I can think of many things that I would like to send KC…but if I typed them here…Niecey would have to ban me :mrgreen:

    Merry Christmas to all my l♥velies, lets hope that 2010 brings justice for Caylee.

    Hugs ♥♥♥

  55. ostella says:

    Ostella’s tips for a festive holiday season:

    1. Remember that eggnog contains alcohol. So drink plenty of it before writing your holiday greeting cards.

    2. Show your American patriotism this year by decorating your Christmas tree with flags and 4th of July sparklers.

    3. Wait for your next door neighbor to put up his outdoor Christmas lights. Then trump him with bigger, brighter lights around your house, coupled with a hologram ‘action’ nativity scene on the front lawn.

    4. Enjoy some “quality winter time” with your dog. Teach him to write his name in the snow with his pee.

    5. Hang a stocking by your chimney for Santa to stuff with presents. If you don’t have a stocking, use an old sock. If you don’t have a chimney, Santa hates you.

    6. Throw a holiday cocktail party, then go caroling through your neighborhood as a drunken mob. Cuz everybody loves sloppy drunk carolers warbling “Jingle Bell Rock” on their porch at midnight.

    7. Remember, the holidays are all about giving, so give canned food to the needy. But when it comes to a canopener, they’re on their own.

    8. Throw everyone a curveball this year by wrapping their gifts in “Happy Cinco de Mayo” wrapping paper.

    9. Take some time to enjoy a holiday sleigh ride through a winter wonderland. If there’s no snow where you live, then pour powdered sugar and glitter on your living room floor, and pretend the couch is a sleigh.

    10. Kiss someone under a sprig of mistletoe. Unless that person is a prostitute. Then you should avoid that person.

  56. ostella says:

    Fresh from Blink:

    http://blinkoncrime.com/2009/12/17/cayleecasey-anthony-case-could-the-chloroform-belong-to-george/#more-2955

    My my my….. Oh Georgie, you naughty spineless sicko……

  57. niecey456 says:

    Hey Jill and Ostella! I had Bees on my mind yesterday as well. I sent her an email. I feel like no news is good news for her.

    Hey Bees! I do think no news is good news. Thanks for letting us know.

    Ostella, those parodies of yours are hilarious! Thanks for sharing!!! Thanks also for sharing Blink’s latest. I think that is one of her finest pieces. Very, very good.

    Jill, I can think of some things too, LOL! I won’t ban you. 🙂

  58. cali patti says:

    May all of you have a safe and joyous New Year.
    Thanks to you for allowing me to share in your
    friendships if only from a visitors point of view.
    I enjoy the community of pple on this site.
    WTG, Nicey and friends.

  59. niecey456 says:

    Hey Cali Patti! Happy New Year to you. I pray that you and your family enjoy good health, prosperity and Blessings during the coming New Year.
    Thank you for your friendship! (We don’t consider you a visitor, you are one of us.) God Bless. 🙂

Comments are closed.